Select Page

Atikokan Economic Development Corporation

Working in partnership with the people of Atikokan and the surrounding areas, to generate and maintain permanent employment through the creation and support of self-employment initiatives and economic-based community projects.

About the AEDC

The Atikokan Economic Development Corporation is a non-profit, community based corporation. We are governed by a Board of Directors who are elected at the Annual General Meeting for a three year term. The Atikokan Economic Development Corporation works to promote the community and area. We also work to maintain and recruit business to the community. We offer a number of services including business plan development and community strategic planning, etc.

The Atikokan Economic Development Corporation has a service area that includes the town of Atikokan, the village of Upsala, and the First Nations of Seine River, Lac la Croix and Lac des Mille Lacs.

Atikokan Economic Development Corporation Staff

Garry McKinnon, B.Comm

Executive Director

General management responsibilities including personnel, financial planning and management, business planning, government relations, technical and advisory services to businesses and organizations.

With the AEDC since: 1991

Educational Background: Bachelor of Commerce (University of Guelph)

Highlights: Atikokan Chamber of Commerce Ambassador of the Year (2011). Served on Community Future Ontario’s board of directors since 2012 and is currently the President, in addition to serving on the Community Futures Network of Canada (CFNC) Board of Directors. Elected to the Atikokan Township Council in 1988 and was re-elected in each municipal election, until leaving politics in 2003; as a Councillor, he chaired a number of committees, including finance, public works, parks and recreation and cemetery.  In 2000, he was elected as President of the Northwestern Ontario Municipal Association (NOMA); as President of NOMA, he served as Vice-President of the Association of Municipalities of Ontario.  Garry served 2 years as President of the Northwestern Ontario Development Network, and currently sits on the Northwest Training and Adjustment Board of Directors. Garry has previous volunteer experience with the Royal Canadian Legion, Kiwanis Club and the Atikokan Masonic Lodge.

Alex Bakal

Community Development Advisor

Business planning and counseling, loan disbursal, CED projects, marketing and promotion, liaison with community groups and organizations.

With the AEDC since: 2024

Melanie Hachey

Office Administrator

Contract administration, financial record keeping, bookkeeping, loans administration, benefits administration, recording of official minutes.

Teri Cain

Administrative Assistant

Reception and customer relations, banking, correspondence, record keeping, community information.

Atikokan Economic Development Corporation Board of Directors (2021)

Chair: David Homer
Vice-Chair: Tami Stinson
Secretary-Treasurer: Cleo Wolsiffer
Past Chair: Jim Turner
Town of Atikokan Appointees: Rob Ferguson, Gord Martin
Village of Upsala Appointee: Cleo Wolsiffer
First Nations Appointees: Vacant (Lac La Croix FN), Darcy Whitecrow (Seine River FN)
Directors at Large: Dave Elder, Shannon Riding, Brian Stimson, Jerry Laskowski, Gord Knowles, and Leslie Kerr
Member Emeritus: Vic Prokopchuk

Contact Information

Atikokan Economic Development Corporation
214 Main Street West
(corner of Main/Marks)
P.O. Box 218
Atikokan, ON
P0T 1C0

Phone, Fax, Email

 (807) 597-2757 -or- 1-888-334-AEDC
 (807) 290-0015

 [email protected]

Share This